What Car? Safety Award Finalists


To win the What Car? Safety Award, sponsored by Thatcham Research, a vehicle has to prove that it is among the safest machines on the road today. The criteria for the prize are incredibily stringent, going beyond those of the Euro NCAP ratings.

The award will go to the safest new car of the year, as judged by a panel of experts. The tests include track-based testing of collision avoidance systems, as well as a thorough analysis of each car’s Euro NCAP crash test result. Standard safety technology fitted to each car must include Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB) with pedestrian recognition, and the cars are also judged on market relevance and value for money. Last year the Volvo XC90 won the award, and, at the opposite end of the price scale, the Honda Jazz was also highly commended.

The What Car? Safety Award 2017 finalists are:

  • Alfa Romeo Giulia
  • Audi Q2
  • Ford Edge
  • Hyundai Ioniq
  • Mercedes E-Class
  • Peugeot 3008
  • Renault Scenic
  • Seat Ateca
  • Toyota Prius
  • Volkswagen Tiguan

The winner will be announced at the What Car? Awards in January. For more information on the What Car? Awards visit www.whatcar.com.

If you’re looking for a lease or rental vehicle for your business call us today on 01-4605250 or email info@jensenfleet.ie to discuss your options.